The real answers to weight loss

I’ve sat amazed lately watching people eat (more like gulp!) huge amounts of food while drinking a big glass of milk or soda.  It’s very similar to smoking in health – lifespan comparison.  This is a habit, perhaps from childhood, that adds up over time and is hard to break.  As we’ve come to learn… carbs unused are stored as fat.

Read this!: Weight Loss vs Fat Loss!

It’s not just the food but also the speed and amounts that are consumed in minutes!  The digestive system is left to do what it can with this mostly dead food, no enzyme support, low stomach acid, hardly chewed massive carbohydrate (sugar or simple sugar conversion) overload before bam, the next meal or large snack is coming right behind it.  Insulin kicks in big time (insulin resistance is a huge key in health and longevity), bowels don’t have sufficient time or space to handle it all, arterial plaque, etc, and this goes on for years! Until a doctor visit reveals fast growing health issues or medical intervention is needed.

Our body was freely given to our spirit by God, it’s our temple here on earth.  If it’s not going to be respected, there will be consequences.  As Dr Mercola says, “Take charge of your own health!”.  I can tell you that if you don’t, the medical community will, surgeries, drugs with enormous side effects, most likely a very shortened lifespan or very limited – dependent final years.  All for what can only be described as gluttony.

Back to carbs.  Not too long ago I thought carbs were starches, pasta, maybe a few other things.  It’s all foods that are sugar or quickly become sugars in the digestive process: yes, potatoes, spaghetti, rice, but also cereals, breads, grains, and of course the sugars like candy, ice cream, etc, and processed foods that add sugars (nearly all).  This “awareness” helps guide my food choices today.

In my 20’s and 30’s, my job had me lifting most days 20 tons by hand, workouts near daily including 30+ miles per week running, calories and metabolism were rocking!  My weight would stay at 155-160 with a full six pack going at all times!

Now, I don’t have to get out as much, my workouts are near daily but the amount of aerobic, cardio type exercise is less, 10 miles per week on the treadmill in the winter months.  So… if I continue to eat the same way, my body composition will change over time I can guarantee that!

What I’ve done is limit my carbs.  First thing I did was tell myself, I’m cutting my carb intake – from all sources – in half starting now!  So I mentally just looked at what I used to eat and cut way back, but still ate plenty of carbs.  After I got used to that, couple weeks, I halved it again!  At this point I was eating way lower carbs. For instance, no waking up to cereal, French toast, or pancakes (except on a rare occasion), instead it’s many days daily fasting to lunch.  That alone is a major health step: a couple days ago for example, I ate up until about 9pm, bed by 11pm, was up at 7am, drank only water, 9am off to the gym, home by 11am and a small protein shake (low carb with water not milk).  That was 14 hours without food!  No problem.  Read my blog on daily fasting.

Note: the JourneyHealth weight control greatly helps with any hunger and easily gets me rolling for a super workout!

This simple act helped stabilize my weight.  At this time I’m around 170-175.  The additional 15lbs I carry over what I weighed 20 years ago is more upper body muscle, but I still carry more fat.  So I now have two choices (diet), lower further my carb intake and/or lower my overall daily calories, or (exercise) start running 30+ miles per week and add more to my workouts.

I am at this crossroads in weight, health right now.  I will begin a daily blog and go over my diet, workouts, thoughts to hold myself more accountable.  Update: this did happen, read more at massiverepguy.com below.

What I have done is definitely curb myself from becoming heavy and losing all my definition, by cutting back on my carbs probably 70% from what I used to.  I do crave carbs, chips, ice cream but have scaled that back.  After reading articles by Dr Mercola for years, it became clear that if I didn’t make some simple changes I would see a rapid decline in my health which is disrespecting what God gave me and limit my future for no reason other than the moments of self satisfaction from over eating/way, way too many carbs!  Till next time, God Bless,

~Gary

massiverepguy@gmail.com

massiverepguy.com

Update: in Jan of 2015 I started daily fasting and have missed only a few days since… all year! It’s a daily blog and on the massiverepguy site above. The results speak for themselves.

2 thoughts on “The real answers to weight loss

  1. Brandy Dawson

    There is technique you can use, if you have the courage that will help you achieving weight loss goals. It is based on the concept of social pressure.

    Think about this; lets say you have a goal to lose a certain amount of weight. You can set the goal privately and tell yourself, I will achieve this goal by August 1. On the other hand, you can make the goal public by telling all of your friends and family what you intend to do and even give a date for your desired completion.

    As soon as you make that goal public, you change your state of mind. No longer are you at the mercy of your own self-discipline. Now you have a much more powerful force dictating your day to day actions and decisions.

    Studies have shown publicizing goals with another person make them more likely to be achieved. For example, Researchers at the University of South Carolina found the support and accountability provided by posting to a social networking site made a difference in how much weight people lost.

    Reply
    1. kirch5 Post author

      Very good info Brandy! It makes sense, a lot more of your credibility to yourself and others riding on a public goal, agreed, have you done this? Thank you,

      ~Kirch

      Reply

Leave a Reply

